TL;DR
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
Oklahoma’s State Board of Education voted to place 59 districts on “accredited with warning” after reading or math scores met a new two-year threshold. The affected districts include Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma City Public Schools and Epic Charter School; the state says 56 were downgraded solely for academic performance.
Oklahoma’s State Board of Education voted Thursday to downgrade 59 school districts to “accredited with warning” after their students’ reading or math scores met a new threshold, bringing the state’s three largest districts into the lower accreditation tier. The decision marks the first use of a rule linking district accreditation to academic test results.
The new standard applies when more than half of a district’s students score “below basic” on state reading or math tests for two consecutive years. State education documents define that result as a failure to demonstrate even partial mastery of grade-level content. The state says it can signal that a student is not on track to be college- or career-ready by the end of high school.
The districts named include Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma City Public Schools and Epic Charter School. According to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, academic performance was the only deficiency for 56 of the 59 districts. The remaining districts also had non-academic deficiencies. The department reported that 358 districts had no deficiencies, 100 had one, and 25 had more than one.
“Accredited with warning” is defined in state documents as a deficiency that “seriously detracts” from the quality of a district’s education program. The tier sits below accreditation with one or more deficiencies and above probation. If affected districts do not improve their scores by 5%, their status could fall to probation, which would bring additional state oversight, according to the report.
The Stakes for Affected Districts
The vote makes academic results a direct factor in how Oklahoma rates districts’ accreditation, rather than limiting annual reviews to operational requirements such as compliance with state law, financial standards and governance. That change gives the state a formal way to flag districts where a majority of students repeatedly score at the lowest reported level.
For the districts, the warning is not just a label: failure to meet the stated improvement threshold could lead to probation and added oversight. For students and families, the designation draws attention to reading and math performance, though it does not by itself describe the circumstances behind scores or establish what interventions will be effective. The rule’s effect on district practice and student achievement remains to be seen.
Popular right now

Vitamix Propel Series 750 Professional-Grade Blender, 4 Programs, Black

Shark Rotator Lift-Away Vacuum with DuoClean PowerFins (LA555) – Dark Grey

Shark Rocket Pet Plus Corded Stick Vacuum, Lightweight, Bordeaux, HV322
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Oklahoma Changed Accreditation
Former state Superintendent Ryan Walters proposed the rule in 2024 to connect academic performance with accreditation. Gov. Kevin Stitt approved it after the Legislature took no action, according to the source report. The rule took effect in the 2025-26 school year.
The current decisions draw on state test results from 2023-24 and 2024-25, because newer results were not available during the accreditation reviews, the education agency said. The state is therefore applying the new standard to historical scores, not assessments from the current school year. Before the rule, accreditation focused on operational and compliance requirements.
Education advocates and legislative Democrats opposed the change, arguing that it could unfairly penalize districts with higher rates of poverty or more students learning English as a non-native language. Those concerns are arguments about how the rule accounts for district circumstances; the reported vote itself establishes which districts were downgraded, not the causes of their test results.
“My main concern … is that we are supporting these districts as a state and as an agency to make sure that they can come out of that and they can not be on this list.”
— Becky Carson, Oklahoma State Board of Education member
What the Scores Do Not Show
The reported results do not establish why students in each district scored below basic, how current performance compares with the test years used, or whether district-level interventions have since changed outcomes. Because the state relied on 2023-24 and 2024-25 results, the decision does not reflect more recent testing that was unavailable during the reviews.
Tulsa Public Schools and Oklahoma City Public Schools did not immediately respond to a request for comment on Thursday, according to the report. The source material does not provide district-by-district score details, identify the specific reading or math subject triggering each warning, or explain how the state will measure the stated 5% improvement threshold in each case.
Improvement Targets and State Review
The affected districts face the prospect of a lower rating if scores do not improve by 5%, according to the report. The state says probation would bring extra oversight, but the available information does not specify a timeline for that determination or detail what oversight would involve. Further review will depend on how the state applies the threshold and what results become available in later assessment cycles.
Epic’s superintendent said the charter school is carrying out targeted academic interventions, strengthening instructional practices and prioritizing student growth. The report does not describe comparable plans from the other districts. The next clear milestones are the districts’ efforts to improve performance and future accreditation reviews using newer test data.
Key Questions
Why were 59 Oklahoma districts downgraded?
They met a new rule that triggers an academic deficiency when more than half of students score below basic in reading or math for two years in a row. Three districts also had non-academic deficiencies; the state says academics were the sole reason for the other 56.
Which large districts were affected?
The districts named include Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma City Public Schools and Epic Charter School, the state’s three largest districts, according to the report.
What does “accredited with warning” mean?
State documents define it as a deficiency that “seriously detracts” from the quality of a district’s education program. It is below accreditation with deficiencies and above probation.
Could the districts face more state oversight?
Yes. The report says districts whose scores do not improve by 5% could be moved to probation, a status that would invite additional state oversight. The material does not specify the timeline or exact measures for that process.
Which test years were used?
The reviews used scores from 2023-24 and 2024-25 because more recent test results were not available at the time, according to the Oklahoma State Department of Education.
Source: rss
